Blog Archives
American Dreams Assignment #3: Annotated Bibliography

You will develop an annotated bibliography of sources in connection to your research topic (see assignment 4). Please find a minimum of five sources that include one book, one newspaper article, and three academic journal articles. Each entry should summarize

Posted in General Information, Present research within conventions of a particular genre
Creativity Assignment #3: Filling in the Creative Conversation: Crafting an Annotated Bibliography

Using the library resources you’ve learned about during our visit, find five secondary resources that attempt, in the manner of Tharp, Bohm and others we have read, to explain or theorize the creative process. Audience: Future writers in this course

Posted in Present research within conventions of a particular genre
Cultural Identity Assignment #1: Creative Memoir

The editors of identitytheory.com, a literary journal that features essays, poetry, and fiction dealing with the broad issue of “identity” have issued a call for short memoirs about cultural upbringings for an upcoming issue. After reading sample memoirs available on

Posted in Present research within conventions of a particular genre
Food Assignment #1: Food in Context

Your task in this assignment is to craft a narrative description of a food-related memory or experience, much in the vein of Bruni, Lahiri, Reichl, and Hamilton. Choose an event from your life that involves eating, preparing, or growing food.

Posted in Present research within conventions of a particular genre
Higher Education Assignment #3: “Saying Why It Matters”

Write a letter to the Queens College Provost, Dr. James Stellar, informed by the readings in this unit (“Education in America: The Next Generation”) and structured as a well-organized argument. Your letter will respond to the following prompt: What has

Posted in Present research within conventions of a particular genre
Literacy and Language Assignment #4: Your Literacy Narrative

Your fourth assignment is to write your own literacy narrative. The autobiographical account will not simply be an autobiography “about me,” but a narrative in which you consider yourself as a social subject shaped by and interacting within a broader

Posted in Present research within conventions of a particular genre
Memory Essay #4: At the Crossroads of History and Narrative: The Personal and the “Official” on 9/11

Bring up 9/11 and, eventually, everyone starts sharing their personal “What-I-Was-Doing-When-It-Happened” narratives.  It is a near-automatic response and, for some reason, almost always has the effect of comforting those involved in the retelling.  As part of an effort to preserve

Posted in Present research within conventions of a particular genre
NYC Assignment #3: Informing about New York City

Investigate an NYC-related topic and write an article about this topic for prospective publication in a New York-themed magazine such as New York or The New Yorker. Audience: Educated readers of a general-interest magazine. Format: Five-six pages, MLA style Advice: 

Posted in Present research within conventions of a particular genre
Page to Stage Assignment #2: 10-Minute Play Adaptation & Introductory Essay

Playwrights often work from existing material to create plays. For example Walter Wykes adapted Edna Ferber’s short story, “Sun Dried,” into a play of the same name. As a next step toward investigating the guiding question of the course, how

Posted in Present research within conventions of a particular genre
The Planet Assignment #3: Ecological Struggles – Part I: Annotated Bibliography

John Bellamy Foster suggests that vulnerability to ecological violence may be correlated with socio-economic or geographical characteristics rather than being distributed equally across all humanity. These unequal effects are played out in struggles over access to natural resources, consumption and

Posted in Present research within conventions of a particular genre
Reading Film Assignment #4: Annotated Bibliography

Building on the last paragraph of your Investigative Proposal, use the library’s resources to find five secondary sources that directly relate to your investigation. Using MLA style, create a Works Cited page for these five items. These sources should be

Posted in Present research within conventions of a particular genre
Writing our Biology Assignment #3: Annotated Bibliography

After reading your article about muscular Christianity, scholars impressed with your understanding of how we as a society reward and cherish health have asked you to discuss how the field of eugenics might be making a reappearance in contemporary public

Posted in Present research within conventions of a particular genre
Top

Spam prevention powered by Akismet

Skip to toolbar